It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-01-2010, 08:03 AM   #1
(female)

Alexandra75 HB User
High TSH, normal T3 T4, high antibodies

Hi! I am new in thyroid world!

I am 35 yrs, female and very active in sports. I do triathlon and marathon (I am a lawyer, the sports are my hobby). I feel very energetic, no tiredness at all, no symptoms. My brother is a doctor (surgeon) and over protective. He believes that running a marathon is extreme, he cannot understand my addiction to even running at 10pm if i come late from the office etc etc.
Since I am thin (not anorexic), yet i eat a lot (at times, when I have a lot of work, I may forget to eat), he asked me to go and check my thyroid.

The results were High TSH (58). My pathlogist told me to immediately stop running and go and check T3, T4 and antibodies. I did 1 day later and they were normal with high antibodies. I checked again 4 days later-in the same lab and in another one. The TSH was 82,95 in the first lab I had been and 86.92 in anotherone.

My pathologist told me it is sub-clinical hypothyroid. No need for treatment. Need to follow up. I can run. I called the endo ( my cousin) last night to make an appointment. I will go today. When he heard the TSH, he said "you must be exhausted"!. I told him "it is quite the opposite! I train for the marathon. And I would not like to miss it. It is in 2 months". He immediately said, "dont worry, I will give you treatment and I will fix (am I a car or something, I wondered!) you and you will be ready in 2 months. In the meantime, don't run, it is dangerous"! He did not even ask me what my T3 and T4 were. I told him "wait, I must tell you that T3/4 are these"..... he said "dont worry, with meds you will be fine". Then I said to him, "I also had the test for antibodies....".