It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-10-2011, 08:49 AM   #1
(female)

khurst21 HB User
Question Life after radioactive iodine?

Okay - so even though I have this done about 5 years ago - I feel like I am just learning what it all means now - pretty sad that my doctors haven't educated me better.

I originally had Grave's then had RAI - not have Hypo. and take Synthroid daily.

Does this mean I should follow the information that I see posted about foods to avoid if you have Thyroid issues - like soy and certain vegetables or is this more for people that still have a functioning Thyroid but taking medication to help level the one they have?

Does that make sense?

Also - what about calcium? This is confusing me - can I have any calcium - like yogurt, cheese and cottage cheese and just avoid milk or avoid it all?

Should I be following information about how to eat if you have Thyroid disease?

I really just need all the information that I can get.

Thanks.

Old 01-10-2011, 10:54 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

midwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB User
Re: Life after radioactive iodine?

Take your calcium and don't avoid milk. You need it for bone health. Just be sure to separate calcium pills from your Synthroid by about 4 hours. Dietary calcium should be okay an hour after the Synthroid. The reason for the caution is that calcium binds up the thyroid hormone in the digestive tract and renders it unabsorbable. You don't have to avoid it completely.