It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2011, 09:06 PM   #1
(female)

denisesfriend HB User
low tsh, low free t4, normal free t3 - what does it all mean?

Hi, Newbie here. Endo thinks I have hyperthyroidism because of toxic multinodular thryoid, but the blood work is throwing me off. Any ideas?

Blood work:
Low TSH - 0.05 - (0.27-4.20 = normal range)
Normal to high end Free t3 - 3.14 (1.80-4.60 = normal range)
Low Free t4 - 0.8 (0.9-1.8 = normal range)

He said the t4 is low because the nodule is sending some messages to the brain....I swear - I still don't understand what he is saying.....

Wants me to do Radioactive Iodine Pill....My tsh has steadily been decreasing - 6 months ago it was 0.11....

I'm overweight, have heat intolerance, sometimes I'm exhausted (can sleep 8-9 hours), sometimes I'm hyper (can't sleep more than 4 hrs).

Any feedback would be great!!! Thanks, Denise

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-29-2011, 07:59 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

sammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB User
Re: low tsh, low free t4, normal free t3 - what does it all mean?

We don't look at TSH to evaluate thyroid function - it can give *some* indication as to what's going on with the thyroid but, much better to look at the actual thyroid hormone levels.

TSH levels can change in the body's attempts to maintain stable thyroid hormone levels so, even though your level dropped, the only thing it's telling us is that you *might* be hyperthyroid.

Now, your FreeT4 level (storage hormone level) is below-range which definitely indicates hyPOthyroidism.

Your FreeT3 (active hormone level) is at a place in the range that many people would find comfortable.

So, you are clearly NOT hyperthyroid.