It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2011, 09:27 PM   #1
(female)

DiaNight HB User
Borderline Thyroid Test

This is my first time posting on a site like this, but I felt compelled to as I was online researching what a borderline result from my thyroid test meant and I came across this forum.
I just got my results from my recent physical and the doctor mentioned that I was borderline on my thyroid test (TSH 4.6 vs 2.7 in 2010) and noted that my cholesterol levels (Total 209 with LDL of 123) were quite high and asked me to schedule a follow up appointment.
You have no idea how this has scared me, as my mother, her sister and my mom's first cousin all have hypothyroidism. I know my family history puts me at an increased risk, but I wasn't expecting this at 28 as they all developed this in their late thirties...
I am 5'3" at 110 lbs and am fairly active and eat pretty well. I was planning on starting a family later this year, but have been reading about the issues this causes around fertility and complications in the mental development of a baby and am very concerned.
My doctor wants me to schedule a follow up appointment to discuss treatment options so I am trying to do some research online to see what my options are before I go in to see her so I can be more aware and ask the right questions. I'm really worried as I don't want to go on any medication and would like to see if there are any natural alternatives that can control this condition before it becomes worse...
If anybody has anything helpful they can advise, I would greatly appreciate it!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-07-2011, 11:36 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

midwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB User