It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2011, 09:44 PM   #1
(female)

suzan130 HB User
thyroid nodule

Hello, I am a newbie here. I am hoping that someone can help me interpret the results of my ultrasound. Here's what it says:

"Right lobe: two nodules identified within the right lobe. Smaller one in the midportion measures 7 x 5 x 4 mm and larger solid lesion measures 10 x 7 x 6 mm.

Left lobe: solid, large heterogeneous nodule in the inferior and midportion of the left lobe measures 6.2 x 5.5 x 3.1. A smaller solid nodule in the superior pole measures 7 x 8 x 6 mm.

Lymph nodes: multiple lymph nodes with central fatty helium identified along bilateral aspects of the neck, largest on the right side measuring 2 x 1.4 x 0.7 cm and on the left side measuring 1.2 x 1.1. 0.5 cm."

Is "solid" and "heterogeneous" indicative of cancer? Is the size of my lymph nodes unusual? I've had two fine needle biopsies, both were "inconclusive."

Old 10-01-2011, 06:20 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Reece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB UserReece HB User
Re: thyroid nodule

Sounds like you have a multinodular goiter---a lumpy bumpy enlarged thyroid. Since the needle biopsy was inconclusive, I would consider, if you aren't on thyroid meds, getting on it and rechecking in a few months, and determining if you can re-biopsy.

I am more concerned about the lymph nodes---have they been biopsied? What have they said about those? Have they done blood work? Have you had a chest x ray? They might not be related to the thyroid---or they might be.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-02-2011, 09:39 AM   #3
(female)

suzan130 HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reece View Post