It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2011, 01:06 AM   #1
(male)

BustedThyroid HB User
REVERSE T3 above normal. What's it mean? Lab results included.

Hi, all. I'm new to this. After months of feeling tired, depressed, mentally fuzzy, my girlfriend said to look at thyroid issues. I just turned 46, and I am a Caucasian male.

I started taking my temperature. It's consistently in the 96s to low 97s, whether it's when I awake, during the day, or at night before I go to bed.

Finally, I went to doctor Nov 17. They measured my temp as 96.2 F. The TSH blood test was 4.35. Doctor refused to do any other tests, though when I went back ten days later, he said there was nothing wrong with me and 4.35 for TSH is fine, as it is below the 4.5 level. (I told him the symptoms, including that my toes are often cold. My glucose was measured as 88, and I'm ~ 6'1 1/2", 175#.)

When I went in the second time, my normally irregular heartbeat was regular! Just for that and the following day! Now it's back to irregular. Strange...

I went vegan back in August 2010 to try and lower my cholesterol. So he drew blood to check my B-12 and the result was 488 pg/mL (range of 211-946). He said that was fine. Just this last week, I started to eat meat again, though, thinking maybe I need more protein. I had a few bites of steak a few days before my most recent blood draw. I doubt that would have done anything, though.

I then got my own blood tests Dec 12. (Same company doing the blood work, just purchased it on my own from an online place.) Here are *those* results, with the value and the lab range. (By the way, the only other times I had TSH tested was in 1992, 2.9, and in Dec 2009, 1.096.)

Iron, Serum: 66 ug/dL (40-155)
Cholesterol, Total: 170 mg/dL (100-199) [was 176 weeks earlier]