It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2012, 05:32 AM   #1
(female)

mmgeao93 HB User
REALLY high thyroglobulin antibody levels (TgAb)

I might be just reading this wrong, but I have been browsing other threads and haven't found anybody else's results this high.

specimen:serum
thyroglobulin antibodies (U/ml) = 5623 (<60)
thyroid peroxidase antibodies (U/ml) = 2652 (<60)

TSH = 9.52 mIU/L (0.35 - 5.50)

my t4 and t3 were within normal range.

Has anyone else had results this high? Am I reading it wrong? Do I have hashimoto's disease? I'm totally new to all this so any explanation would be great

Old 02-22-2012, 05:55 AM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

FinnMaid HB UserFinnMaid HB UserFinnMaid HB UserFinnMaid HB UserFinnMaid HB UserFinnMaid HB UserFinnMaid HB UserFinnMaid HB UserFinnMaid HB UserFinnMaid HB UserFinnMaid HB User
Re: REALLY high thyroglobulin antibody levels (TgAb)

Yes you do have Hashi's and I think some other people have had their abs as high (our lab measures TPOAb up to 1000 - if it's above, like my Abs, we don't know by how much and it doesn't matter really - it's just freaking high ). Selenium supplement may help bring those TPOAbs down a bit but I don't know if it has any real use in your case.

Are you on thyroid supplement yet? If you're not you should be. TSH that high is a clear indicator of hypoT even if your freeTs (were they freeTs or Total Ts?) are still "within range". Healthy people usually have their TSH around 1-1.5.

Find out what your actual thyroid levels have been and their reference ranges - make sure you get those FREE Ts tested (as they are more accurate than total ie. "plain" Ts), learn to interpret your labs (we can help you with that ) so you can keep up with your situation and be proactive with your treatment.

Last edited by FinnMaid; 02-22-2012 at 06:00 AM.