It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2012, 06:54 AM   #1
(female)

Pirtastic HB User
The big T3/RT3 question

Hi all -- (thyroid question below )

Newbie here. I'm 29, and have struggled with fast-worsening fibromyalgia (muscle knots, fatigue/exhaustion, parasthesia, headache, etc) for 2 years. I've gone from being an extremely active professional to a non-working, hardly functioning human being.

My doctor at the Cleveland Clinic Center for Integrative Medicine is trying to help me get to the bottom of some of my symptoms. She recently did a total thyroid panel on me. I can't get in for a while to discuss with her, but I've done some reading that leads me to believe I could have a problem with RT3.

FT4 = 1.2 (range 0.7-1.9)
FT3 = 2.8 (range 2-4.4)
RT3 = 220 (range 90-350)

Any insight/advice for me about what these numbers might indicate? Thanks so much for your input.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-17-2012, 07:52 AM   #2
(male)

AlwaysTired247 HB User
Re: The big T3/RT3 question

Forget the RT3 problem. I chased this for far to long. You will find people on some websites telling you that this is a problem and you need to take T3 only and drop the T4. Then, you will find others (like on here) that will tell you that YOU (and I mean you!) need to increase your T4 and T3 together. Your numbers are low. My RT3 was MUCH higher than yours. Mine came down on it's own once I removed the stressors from my life. You don't have a RT3 problem, you have a thyroid problem. Sammy and others will be able to help you out further than this, but please... PLEASE... don't waste your time with RT3.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-17-2012, 12:08 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)