It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2012, 09:20 PM   #1
(female)

Mollie1972 HB User
Question Secondary Hypothyroidism? Advice.

Hello,

I am new to the thyroid test analysis, etc. However, I am not new to having hypothyroid symptoms with my TSH levels ALWAYS being in the normal range. I currently am having significant symptoms that I have been wracking my brain trying to figure out the cause.

Little bit of a history of me.

I have always been overweight to some degree. However, at certain periods of time, I ballooned up without really a cause (other than being told I am lazy and eat too much- which is not the case but I have weight gain). The more I would diet the more I would work out ... no weight loss or I would gain.

I do have a history of infertility. In grad school, I would have messed up long non-ovulatory cycles. I attributed this to stress. After grad school, my cycles normalized and I do believe I was ovulating. However, no pregnancies.

Weight loss was so impossible for me even with strict rigid dieting and exercise I chose to do gastric bypass. I did well - lost 140 pounds. Normalized my weight and kept it there for 3 years. Tried to achieve pregnancy... again nothing. Went to an reproductive endocrinologist. All my labs came back normal except a red flag came up with my TSH which came back as 2.55 and their lab top is 2.50. All that resulted from this test, was my having to go in and have a nurse feel my thyroid, which she said was fine. Nothing more on this topic.