It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2012, 10:57 AM   #1
(female)

viewtoakill HB User
HELP! high free T3, Low free T4, normal TSH??

So my Dr. isn't much help. I will most likely pay out of pocket for an alternative, but wanted to run it by you guys!

Dr. did a TSH test monday that came back at 1.7. Low vitamin D, hi triglycerides, high cholesterol (i am vegan and it's always been really low until now)

I then went to a lab to get freeT3 and freeT4

Their TSH came back at 2.4 (3 days later??)

and...

LOW Free T4 .81 Range(.89-1.76)
HIGH Free T3 4.9 Range(1.8-4.2)

I went for HYPO symptoms, weight gain, low libido, thinning hair, weak. So what the heck do these mean???

Thanks!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-28-2012, 02:15 PM   #2
(female)

Missy1227 HB User
Re: HELP! high free T3, Low free T4, normal TSH??

I'm very new to thyroid problems so I really won't be much help but wanted to show you my support. My first labs taken July 10th my FT3 was 3.8 (range 1.5-3.5) FT4 was 0.6 (range 0.6-1.5) my TSH was 0.058 (range 0.400-4.200). Mine are similar to yours except my TSH was low. I was told I have T3 toxicosis. I hope you are able to
find some answers. There are some very knowledgable people here . Good luck!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-28-2012, 02:43 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

sammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB Usersammy64 HB User

Welcome!

Sorry for the reason you're here but, glad you found us.

Please know that TSH stands for "thyroid stimulating hormone" and is produced by the pituitary gland in response to the body's needs for thyroid hormone (T4 & T3)

TSH production fluctuates throughout the day and from day-to-day in the body's efforts to maintain stable thyroid hormone levels.