It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2012, 04:10 PM   #1
(female)

lizbitts HB User
Large mass on thyroid/Need advice please

Well I am new to these msg boards and have never posted before. I am a 57 yr old female. I have been reading a lot of posts related to thyroid nodules. The past month has been an nerve wracking and emotional roller coaster for me. Last month, went to ER for swelling on right side of my face and swollen glands. For 3 weeks prior going to ER-I was sick with what I first thought was allergies, then worsened to cold symptoms, then flu like symptoms and pain in jaw area. So went I went to ER they did a Cat Scan to check lymph nodes and then incidentally found a 2.9cm mass on my thyroid and advised me to see an ENT dr. right away. Went to ENT dr. --had ultrasound --this is ultrasound results--
RT. thyroid lobe measures 5.7x2.0x1.5cm
It has a heterogeonous echotexture
Tiny round hypoechocic are seen in the right lobe measuring 0.3cm

Left thyroid lobe measures 5.7x2.1x1.7cm
It has a heterogeonous echotexture
In the mid lobe there is a 1.2x1.1x0.7cm isoechoic nodule.
In the lower pole there is a Dominant mass measuring up to 2.9x2.2x2.2cm

Isthmus --the thyroid isthmus measures .3cm

IMPRESSION: Multinodular node as described with dominant mass in left lower lobe measuring up to 2.9cm. There is also a 1.2 cm nodule in the left mid lobe. These are amendable to FNA

Ok so then I went and had the FNA--that was done on the 2.9 dominant mass--here are the results:

FNA left thyroid nodule
satisfactory for fna
Sheets and small clusters of benign appearing follicular cells with minimal colloid material, Favor benign nodule

Sparse lymphocytes also noted, suggestive of mild lymphocytic thyroiditis.
Recommend clinical and radiologic correlation and follow-up.