It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2012, 10:21 AM   #1
(female)

Desertmama HB User
Question First Endo appt today elevated PTH, calcium

Hello!

I am new to this part of the board.

I recently found out that I have elevated Calcium blood levels (currently 11.1), PTH is 80 and last time we checked my Vit D is 15 (currently taking 50,000 units once per week).

Today I see an Endo for the first time. From what I have read, these labs indicate Primary Hyperparathyroidism and the fix is to remove the parathyroid gland that is not working right or remove a tumor.

I work full time at a call center and really cannot afford to not work. I really hope and pray that I just need a parathyroid gland removed and it can be done quick and somewhat painlessly. As of now I feel very run down, have anxiety, depression, feel like I have the flu, nausea, headaches.. generally feel bad most of the time. I always ration my energy. I come home from work and go straight to my bed and rest.

I am married and have three kids. The two that live at home are 18 and 12. We are a busy family and there's always something going on. I have to say "no" to a lot of things, then my husband picks up the slack where he can with other things. I feel like I am missing out and feel guilty because I cannot be the mom or wife that I want to be.

I really hope and pray that I get good news today when going to the Endo. I am going to tell him how this is affecting my life and the I need a solution Now!! I am tired of Dr's not believing how bad I feel and writing off my symptoms. Now that I have proof that I am sick.. I need a cure!!!

Any additional advice on what to say or watch for at the Endo would be much appreciated!