It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2013, 10:30 AM   #1
(female)

sophiered HB User
Question Do I need treatment for hypothyroidism...

Hello all..
I'm new to this, not sure where to start :-)
I went to my G.P. for advice re- menopause symptoms. I don't sleep well, tire easily, have sweats at night...etc etc.
i was given a blood test to check my Thyroid. My TSH level came back as 4.8 and I was told i should have another test in a couple of months.
I have since had that test and my TSH level is now 5.77 but my Serum free T4 level came back normal at 13.8.
My doctor although helpful was unsure as to whether to give me medication and said I could have another test in 6 months.
I really don't know whats best, and hope to get some advice/ help from here... Pleeease :-).
Thanks in advance
Sophie

Old 01-17-2013, 07:31 PM   #2
Inactive
(male)

telus HB Usertelus HB Usertelus HB Usertelus HB Usertelus HB Usertelus HB Usertelus HB Usertelus HB Usertelus HB User
Re: Do I need treatment for hypothyroidism...

Sophie:
Normal TSH should be around 1.4, so TSH at 4.8 to 5.77 would ordinarily indicate that you are very hypothyroid. But FT4 at 13.8 pmol/L is actually pretty close to median (13.4) for normal people. So we have conflicting results. But odds are that you are hypo.

The only way to resolve it is to get a Free T3 test - which should have been done in the first place, because T3 is the active thyroid hormone. But your doctor is trying to save money for the health care system.

By hook or by crook you need to get a FT3 test. Median FT3 for normal women under 60 is 4.44 pmol/L.

Good Luck...

Last edited by telus; 01-17-2013 at 07:32 PM.

The Following User Says Thank You to telus For This Useful Post:
sophiered (01-18-2013)
Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-17-2013, 08:59 PM   #3
Facilitator
(female)