It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2013, 07:15 PM   #1
(female)

erosie HB User
Pregnancy and Hypothyroidism

Hi all,

I'm new to this message board and I am so happy to have come cross it!

I have had hypothyroidsm since high school, I am now 23 years old. I have been on levothyroxine since.

I'm wondering if anyone is trying to conceive or has been pregnant while being previously diagnosed with hypothyroidsm? If so, did you notice it taking you longer or having a more difficult time with it? I've read so many articles on hypo and pregnancy but haven't gotten the answers I've been looking for. This upcoming fall, we are hoping to start trying for a baby. I do see an endro and she has been great by telling me that it's important to come in every 6 weeks for blood work to ensure my levels are where they should be.

But... I am still very worried. I have heard people with hypo are more prone to miscarriages and issues during pregnancy that it makes me nervous and upset that I'm battling this disease.

Please share your experience or what you know!

Old 04-04-2013, 09:15 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

midwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB User
Re: Pregnancy and Hypothyroidism

As long as your free T4 level is optimal... not merely adequate... you shouldn't have any more trouble with conception and pregnancy than the average healthy woman. For most women, optimal free T4 would be at least 50% of its lab range (median) up to about 70%. Lab ranges vary, but the typical ones would have 1.3 as median and about 1.5-1.6 as 70%.

Generally, for conception and successful pregnancy, TSH should be no higher than about 1.4 and free T4 should be in the upper part of its range.