It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2003, 08:13 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

shell389 HB User
Post Long term use of Flexeril?

Hi everyone,
I was just wondering how long those that use flexeril for their TMJD have used it for? I have been using it for the last 4 months off and on. (more on than off) It seems when I stop taking it about 4-6 days later I feel like I need it again. Starts out with neck pain, then gradually leads back to the headache, facial tension, etc. When I am on the flexeril (10 mg. 3 hours prior to bedtime) I feel so good that I forget I even have a TMJ problem. Guess I am just worried about how safe it is to keep taking it? Anyway, just wondered if anyone has used it long term and if so, were there any side effects? Thanks, Shell

Old 07-15-2003, 05:19 AM   #2
(female)

OHJELJ HB User
Hey Shell,

My brother is an ER doc and I talked to him at great length about the meds I was on...Bextra and Flexeril...he said the Bextra was bad and would hurt my stomach...which it did...and that Flexeril was no biggie...it doesn't cause any addictive effects and has no long term effects on your body either...I just felt like I lived in a haze while I was on it.

It worked great though for me...I actually used one this weekend to get everything to finally calm down following some dental work...I was stoned until noon on Sat., but it did the trick!

My brother is an experienced physician and I trust him implicitly...so I trust his thoughts on this...use it if you need it!

Take care,
Jennifer

[This message has been edited by OHJELJ (edited 07-15-2003).]

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-15-2003, 05:25 AM   #3
Veteran

RobynRose HB User
Hi Shell..