It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2005, 12:41 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

Wendy88 HB UserWendy88 HB UserWendy88 HB UserWendy88 HB UserWendy88 HB UserWendy88 HB UserWendy88 HB UserWendy88 HB UserWendy88 HB UserWendy88 HB User
TMJ flare up

hi - im new to this particular board...
I've had TMJ forever (im 30).. i sleep with a bite plate so i dont grind etc..
I recently had an endoscopy... I was really stressed about it. They put something in my mouth to protect my teeth, which i know I bit down healily on when i was under cause I was so stressed... and by being so stressed and having my jaw clenched, i know I did something to set off my TMJ.
its been a week and my jaw on the right side is killing me. The first few days after my procdure, my jaw was so sore i couldnt open it more than two fingers thick... now I can open it all the way, slowly, but it hurts on that side to chew or touch. I was suppose to go to the dentist for a cleaning but i cant keep my mouth open that long right now.
What do i need to do? my general doctor told me to take Aleve... but i cant take those meds for another week cause of my endoscopy. I feel like if I could take a muscle relaxer or something it would help untense those muscles.
anyhow - any advice is appreciated. Ive never had a flare up last this long so Im not sure what to do. maybe go to my dentist and get it checked out?
thanks!

Old 09-20-2005, 08:16 AM   #2
(female)

stac HB User
Re: TMJ flare up