It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2007, 05:13 PM   #1
(male)

tommy45 HB User
do dentures stop tmj?

i have severe perio disease and already lost most my back molars.two month ago i have had shoulder pain, sometimes neck sore and popping sound when i drink water.but nothing else.i worry it might be early sign of tmj.so if i have full dentures,it will avoid tmj?

Old 02-23-2007, 05:56 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Thelma-Louise HB UserThelma-Louise HB UserThelma-Louise HB User
Re: do dentures stop tmj?

Good gosh I have been asking that question since my tmj started 3 yrs ago after a filling in a back tooth was replaced - I had previously lost my front teeth to perio and had bridges supported by anterior implants. Once the tmj started they crowned my back teeth thinking that would stop it and when it didn't I had my implants removed. Now I am wearing over dentures over the teeth that were prepped for crowns since they also serve as anterior or front bridges and I have to tell you the pain in my tm joints hasn't changed that much - I am still getting spasms and my jaw still deviates. I keep suggesting I remove all my teeth but every dr that has treated me says it can make things worse.