It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2007, 08:19 PM   #1
Inactive
(female)

ellenk HB User
Angry need help please

I am new to this site but from what I have read, I feel that I may be able to get support/help/ guidance, etc. I have been fighting TMJ for 5 years which seems short compared to some of the threads that I have read. My problems began when I had a "bad surgery". My jaws locked but I was in no pain. After what I thought was a lot of research, I had a surgeon unlock my jaws. I woke up in pain and have not been pain free since. To make a long story longer, I am now a patient of Dr. Gremillion in Gainesville and feel comfortable with him. I have had 1 surgery with Dr. Dolwick 4 years ago to remove both disc. I have tried various meds, botox and pressure point injections. None have worked and I am on a down hill course. Dr. Dolwick now recommends a total joint replacement on both sides and I do not know what to do. I am scared. I have 2 young children and a wonderful husband, I hate what I have put them through because of the pain. I have not eaten a solid food in over 2 months and the pain meds do not work. Guidance from someone who has been down this path would be greatly appreciated. I am scared to go through this surgery because it seems so extreme at the same time, I have no quality of life. I dont have a friend that I can chat with, I have lost patience with most of my friends and I hate dumping it all on my husband. I am lost and could use advice. Thank you in advance for any help. Ellen

Last edited by ellenk; 07-20-2007 at 05:01 AM. Reason: typos!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-20-2007, 04:36 PM   #2
(female)

lorratt HB User
Re: need help please

Ellen,