It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2010, 05:04 AM   #1
(female)

nikkikey HB User
Questions on Symptoms/treatment

1. What was the first noticeable symptom you had that made you start looking for treatment?

2. Did sitting/standing or laying down make things better, worse, the same?

3. Did you find if you "over did" it, such as not resting throughout the day, it exacerbated the symptoms?

4. I work in sales and do a lot of talking. I noticed that at times the more I talk the more aggravated it becomes. Did that happen with you?

5. With your swallowing problems, did you have a thump or click?

6. My messed up side seems to be my right side, which is where the pain is in the neck and jaw. But at times it shifts to the left side. Did this also happen?

7. With swallowing, mine started out as "clicking" at the top of the throat, and caused it to be sore and swollen. Then it felt like it went to the "adam's apple" Now the swallowing is all over the place. Sometimes it clicks, grinds or thumps on the left, middle, right, but it is constant.. I can also feel it down the middle about 2 inches down from my collarbone in my chest at times. Sometimes the swallowing I can feel it go right down my stm muscles. Can you relate? (this swallowing thing is driving me crazy so the more specific the better to try to help me understand this)

8. With the swallowing problems, did you have issues if you looked one way, you couldn't swallow at all? I have that, but sometimes it just happens where I try to swallow but it feels locked up and I have to move to get it to swallow, which then of course clicks. What about if you coughed, sneezed, or cleared your throat.