It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2012, 06:16 PM   #1
(female)

Cess HB User
Is this TMJ pain? I am new to TMJ!

So, about a month ago I had pain on one tooth, at the bottom of the tooth, near the gum line. I made an appt to see my dentist as it was not going away and it was very sensitive to hot food. Two days before I went in, I had pain in other teeth as well. Mostly molars on the top.
My dentist tapped my teeth, it was okay, touched them with a q-tip blasted with cold air, and it hurt BAD. Took some pic which showed flattened areas. He said I had been clenching and grinding. A said a night guard may help, but I am waiting till I can figure out the cost. Insurance makes me pay full cost.
A few weeks later, the pain got much worse and it was on various different teeth, just throbbing pain, which would lessen, but not go away completely. I called him Sunday because the pain was so bad, he prescribed 800mg Motrin and a muscle relaxant. The muscle relaxant finally helped me sleep and the pain med helped, but even when I take it, some teeth will hurt, not all the time, but randomly, even without eating or drinking. I don't usually have pain when I eat unless it is hot.
And swishing room temp water seems to help.
I am wondering can the tooth pain from TMJ come and go? What causes the pain in the tooth?
Thank you!
Megan

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-30-2012, 01:50 PM   #2
(female)

JameseyCake HB User
Re: Is this TMJ pain? I am new to TMJ!