It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2012, 06:21 PM   #1
(male)

anoma HB User
Should I go for an MRI or CT Scan?

Hey I've been wearing a repositioning splint for four months and have gone from opening at 35mm, when my doctor told me my right TMJ was locked, to 48 mm. I made progress in the first 1 - 2 months of treatment but now things have become stagnant and I still experience pain in my jaw joint up to my left temple all the time.

Should I go for an MRI or CT scan to try and discover what's going on? Or should I give it a couple more months? My doctor only had TMJ X-rays done during his diagnosis of my problem.

I'd love to hear any advice...

The following user gives a hug of support to anoma:
MountainReader (12-19-2012)
Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-19-2012, 07:26 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

MountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB User
Re: Should I go for an MRI or CT Scan?

Kind of hard to know. Have you talked to your dentist about this?

My TMJ orthodontist actually required me to do all of the diagnostic stuff prior to determining if a repositioning splint would be a good treatment step for me.

I had an MRI which showed my disc position was out of place. My orthodontist required me to go to a specific MRI center because he said many of the MRI centers don't do a great job with the testing and reading of the results with TMJ issues. He even sent me with my own stack of tongue depressers which I bit on for part of my MRI. They were at the height he wanted specific for my testing.