It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

TMJ Disorder -TemporoMandibular Joint Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2013, 01:21 PM   #1
(female)

NikkiSp HB User
TMJ = Sunken Cheeks

I am new to TMJ issues caused by dental malallignment. I am at week 8. During week 3 1/2- 4 I developed sunken/sullen cheeks and temples. I started a more active exercise of the TMJ muscles during the 4th week. I don't look as sickly as I did, but still have sunken cheeks. I only lost a few pounds during the "soft food" phase and have gained SEVERAL pounds in the last 4 weeks (everywhere except my face). I am in my mid 40s. I am scared that I will not gain back the soft tissue and collagen that has been lost due to this TMJ nightmare. I have always looked extremely young. Now, I look older than my age with sagging skin due to the tissue loss. Has anyone out there experienced this AND had their sunken cheeks disappear and regained the cheek tissue at an older age? If so, did you acheive this without a mouthguard? My TMJ issues have almost disappeared. I am 90% better than when I started and haven't found the need for a mouthguard. I would love to hear any success stories!

Old 04-20-2013, 07:31 AM   #2
(male)

RawrG HB User
Re: TMJ= Sunken Cheeks

How did you get TMD? Did you clench and therefore needed a nightguard or was it caused by something else (then why the nightguard) ?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-20-2013, 11:43 AM   #3
(female)

NikkiSp HB User