HealthBoards

HealthBoards (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Tourette Syndrome (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/tourette-syndrome/)
-   -   will risperidone help my sons tourettes (http://www.healthboards.com/boards/tourette-syndrome/679481-will-risperidone-help-my-sons-tourettes.html)

DrewsMommy 03-17-2009 03:22 PM

will risperidone help my sons tourettes

Hi there I also have a child that is suffering from tourettes. He is now 18 and finally has agreed to take medication. The doctor has giving us the persciption for Riperdone. I am so afraid of this drug as I have known people that have been on it. Doe anyone know how it affects this disorder??? Please help!

addprogrammer 03-18-2009 06:07 AM

Re: will risperidone help my sons tourettes

I feel for both you and your son.

I have no experience with Risperdal. I know it is prescribed for Tourettes and it does, like every other med, have potentially nasty side-effects.

I'll share with you my Golden Med Rule as a principle. Try every other feasible option first. For example, Tourettes does respond in many cases to behavorial type therapies. Even if your son doesn't respond, he'll most likely need it anyway to augment any prescribed meds.

Does he suffer from ADHD too? If so, look at Strattera. Less nasty and if not mistaken used off-label for Tourettes. Strattera has proven to be the most effective ADHD med for some people.

By all means do not encourage your son to anything based on what I say other than talk to his doc about it. He is seeing a psychiatrist, correct? Psychotropic medication issues make programming look like child's play in complexity comparison.

Bob

herekittykitty 03-18-2009 01:40 PM

I just wanted to say, Hi to you. I have a son with Tourette's, but we do not use any type of medications. The pedicatric neurologist that he sees has offered us plenty of prescriptions in the past, but we choose not to use them at this time.