It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Trying to Conceive (TTC) Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2007, 11:42 AM   #1
(female)

VoodooQueen HB User
How to accept being a mother when you cannot financially afford it?

Hello Ladies and Gents,
I am writing because I've been stuck in a state of confusion for years about whether or not to TTC.
I am 25 years old and have been in long term relationship with my comon-law spouse for over 6 years. We plan to get married and as much as we would like to get it over with sooner than later, we find that spending the money to arrange for a wedding would be an expense that would be less than smart for us.

I finished high school and went to college and after graduating, I found yself not able to find a job beause I studied financial services and had accuulated bad debts while studuying, so in turn, almost all employers who would be interested in hiring me could not because i would not pass the credit check.

After 3 years of trying to survive that, I find myself broker than i've never been before. We had to move into subsidized housing, which is less than a good environment to raise a child (mostly because of pesticide used due to unconrollable pest). I'm still not finding a job that would allow me to get out of this mess, so i'm slowly coming to terms with accepting to work as a cashier somewhere at minimu wage (at 20 years old I was making $35,000, now I can't even make my rent...but i understand now that life gets funny like that at times).