It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Urology Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2013, 06:28 AM   #1
(female)

kareval HB User
urethroplasty

Hello,
I have a urethral stricture. One doctor told me that if I learn to self catherize, that i could do that for the rest of my life...the other doctor suggested I go for the surgery. Has anyone here had this and how did it go for you? Thanking anyone in advance who has information on this.

Old 03-25-2013, 04:24 PM   #2
(male)

bhp02 HB Userbhp02 HB Userbhp02 HB Userbhp02 HB User
Re: urethroplasty

i have no experience with this, but where is the stricture exactly ??
Knowing where and how big it is may help you decide .

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-25-2013, 04:35 PM   #3
(female)

kareval HB User

Thanks for responding...My stricture is distal and up near the neck of the bladder..I don't know the size, but it has been described as severe...I have just started to self catheterize to keep my urethra open, as it closes up over time, then I'm in trouble with kidney failure. I've been dealing with this stricture for 15 years. I used to go into urinary retention, but lately, for the past few years, I've had 3 incidences with kidney failure. I've had two different opinions from doctors, and I suppose I need a third to make my decision.

Old 03-25-2013, 05:25 PM   #4
(male)

if I were you, I would go for a laser bladder neck incision or bladder neck plasty or
whatever the technical term is for smoothing/ opening up the bladder neck.
I would assume it would help to decrease the pressure that is built up in the bladder
and into the kidney.

Also, what is your history with this condition ??
what caused it and what surgery had you done before ??
what is the danger of perforation of the urethra ??
is the tissue thick enough to do surgery on it without high risk of perforation or other complications ??

Warning, I am not a urologist