It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Vaccination & Immunization Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2005, 10:20 AM   #1

lacunakitty1121 HB User
Meningitis Shot

Hey.

I'm a college freshman, and they require us to get Meningitis shots. (fun, huh?) Firstly, I am incredibly phobic of shots. I pass out the minute it goes past the first layer of skin. My heart slows, my entire body turns white as a sheet, and I faint. It never fails.

Well, I am scheduled to get this shot next wednesday (my birthday - oh joy!). And I really don't know much about this vaccine.

My questions are:
1. Where do they inject it? (a normal "arm" injection?)
2. How much does it hurt?
3. What are the side effects?
4. What people should not get this vaccine? (people with certain problems and such)

Thank you in advance.
-LacunaKitty1121

Old 11-21-2005, 10:35 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

nastabasta HB User
Re: Meningitis Shot

i had the shot when i was i college. i think it was in 2000. anyway, it was given to me in the arm and it didn't hurt when they gave it to me. my arm was a little sore for a day or two after getting it .... just like with any shot. i didn't have any other side effects. as far as who should not get one, someone at your student health center will be able to answer that. good luck and don't worry, it'll be over in just one second!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-21-2005, 11:54 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

kehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB Userkehorner HB User

They will have the information printed up on a brochure for you to read before you get the shot. Usually you shouldn't get vaccines if you have immune system problems (organ transplants, AIDS...), or if you are allergic to the ingredients in the vaccine. Side effects in general from vaccines include generally feeling a little under the weather, soreness of your arm, etc.