It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Vaccination & Immunization Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2007, 01:26 PM   #1
(female)

Sue21 HB User
Question getting the FLU VACCINE twice in one year

I have gotten a flu shot for the past few years, and have been very happy. I want to get my annual flu shot soon.

However, I am most likely entering Active Duty military in January or March 2008, and upon my activation I will receive a flu shot (along with other standard military vaccinations).

Is there any harm in getting two flu vaccines in the same year? I assume that many people get their own in the autumn before becoming activated military in the spring.

I would appreciate any info about this. Thank you.

Sue

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-08-2007, 05:19 AM   #2
(female)

jjemom HB User
Re: getting the FLU VACCINE twice in one year

I am not an expert, but my own personal experience is that getting two shots is not a problem, especially spacing it out like you will be doing. I believe the shot only covers you for about 4 months anyway. My son does not produce enough antibodies when he gets the flu shot so he often gets the flu anyway, just a milder case. It has been suggested that he get two flu shots every year. Good luck.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-10-2007, 01:17 PM   #3
(female)

EssentialPeace HB User

Not only will you be getting twice the amount of neaurotoxins, you will also be suppressing your immune system, making it more likely for adverse reactions from the other vaccines you will be getting.
You can always get a religious exemption if you don't want any vaccines while serving in the military.

Old 11-16-2007, 07:57 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

AlexaIn2006 HB UserAlexaIn2006 HB UserAlexaIn2006 HB User