It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Weight Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2003, 09:53 AM   #1

shanlgree HB User
Post Teeth Wired Shut

I would like to know if there is anyone who has had there teeth wired shut for weight loss purposes. Please email me so I can get more details on this procedure and how it has worked for you. shanlgree@msn.com

Old 06-04-2003, 09:56 AM   #2

nville1 HB User
What are your stats? Why are you considering something so drastic?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-04-2003, 09:57 AM   #3

hobbitgirl HB User
I'm no professional, but I would HIGHLY advise AGAINST such a procedure. I would also advise seeking a second opinion if a doctor advised to get such a procedure.

Why? Because with your mouth wired shut you are limited to a liquid diet. Sure, you will lose weight, but you will not be learning how to eat real food. What happens when the wires come off?

Old 06-04-2003, 10:06 AM   #4

Cepedaa HB User
Hi,
I knew somebody who got this procedure done, I agree with the last post. Yeah you'll loose weight but that's because ur only drinking liquids. As soon as the person I knew was able to eat she gained all the weight plus some more really fast. You shouldnt go through that extreme. Knowing everything you know about nutrition it just doesnt make sense.

Old 06-04-2003, 10:21 AM   #5

meily HB User
Oh my cousin had it.
It was horrible... she could only drink soup... soup and more soup... and that is all.
She quitted really fast so i really did not feel that she really lost weight. I am not sure if it was the doctor's opinion since she was a tennager, that was long long time ago.
Also, it would be cute when you are a child (nah, she look weird to me... haha) but as a older person... Ah??

[This message has been edited by meily (edited 06-04-2003).]

Old 06-04-2003, 10:22 AM   #6

hobbitgirl HB User