It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Weight Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2005, 08:53 PM   #1

slnr232 HB User
Daily Calorie Intake

I have been excercising consistently for about two years and started a food diary about seven months ago. During the first six months, I would eat whatever I wanted, as long as it did not pass 1200 calories. However, I always ended up binging every 7 days. Those days I would eat like I would never see food again - anything in site went down my throat. I estimate that I would eat around 8000-10,000 calories. The next day I would be deeply upset with myself and determined not to do it again for a long time! My stomach would hurt afterwards, but nothing would stop me from hitting the fridge 7 days later.
I finally came to the conclusion that I needed to make a change. Obviously, I was feeling deprived and was tired of always going to bed hungry. As well, I wasn't eating enough nutritous foods, and had a great imbalance of calorie intake throughout the day. A normal day would be a pizza mini in the morning, and then 1000 calories when I got home. I was starving at around 5:00 pm, and would eat the 1000 calories quickly. Since the foods I ate were mostly unhealthy and had high glycemic indexes, I would always be hungry about 3 hours later. I was also exercising like crazy, before supper, so I could barely get through the exercises. I lost 32 lbs, but not in a safe or healthy way.
So I made a new plan. More calories throughout the day and more healthy foods. I eat
1400 calories 5 days a week
1600 calories 1 day a week
1800 calories 1 day a week/ or 2200 calories every two weeks in place of the 1800 calories