It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Weight Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2006, 04:57 PM   #1
(female)

erinh84 HB User
Protein & Muscle

Hey Everybody! This is my first time posting here. I have a question about protein and gaining. I want to lose weight and gain more muscle so Iíve been lifting weights and watching my diet carefully. Iíve read that you need around .8 grams to 1 gram of protein per pound of body weight. I weight 138 so I figure at minimum I need at least 110 grams a protein per day! Right now, I eat around 1200-1400 calories a day and I usually eat around 50 grams of protein per day. So my questions, is this enough to gain muscle and will my weight lifting even make a difference if I donít eat enough protein in the first place? I was just wondering because I donít know how I can fit another extra 60 grams of protein to my diet without eating a lot more calories. I eat a lot of high protein foods like nuts, soy milk, whole grains, dairy, beans, and occasionally meat. So anyways do you have any suggestions?
Thanks,
Erin

Last edited by erinh84; 04-16-2006 at 05:01 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-16-2006, 05:45 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

MaxOT26 HB User
Re: Protein & Muscle

Protein is the most essential macro-nutrient for anyone who is trying to build muscle and lose fat. Muscle is protein. It is important to be in that mind set when you establish your diet plan. Protein requirements will vary depending on which "expert" you ask. However, one things is clear through research: high protein diets are safe, and they are the most effective diets to build muscle and reduce body fat. 50g a day is not ideal for your goals. Honestly even 1g per pound isn't ideal. I weigh around 190 pounds and my daily protein goal is 350g. I know that probably scares you, but for bodybuilding purposes protein intake is imperative.