It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Weight Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2006, 08:06 PM   #1
(male)

AladdinJay HB User
Is exercise really necessary?

Okay, I know this sounds stupid, but hear me out!

Running a mile burns 100 calories. Before bed, I have a quick snack of crackers and cheese. It says on the label each package is 400 calories. If I stop eating those each day, I basically just ran 4 miles. On paper, it seems like eating less is more important than exercise, as exercise barely burns anything it seems like. Is my thinking right? I'm a bit new to all this. Thanks!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-14-2006, 10:48 PM   #2
(female)

TamWasHere HB User
Re: Is exercise really necessary?

You are correct you can lose weight without excercise, but at some point you will reach a crossroads. You will get to a point where you plateau, your metabolism slows because of the calorie intake, and weight loss becomes more difficult.

I have become an excercise demon. I excercise 2+ hours daily. I am building muscle mass, my metabolism is much higher, and I can eat a good meal and still be great! (I always have an eye on fat content and carbs and sugars, got to keep the heart in good shape to excercise! )

I guess the answer is excercise may not be "necessary" for weight loss, but is sure makes it alot easier!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-15-2006, 05:22 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Smartpants HB User