It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Weight Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2009, 05:11 PM   #1
(male)

Positronicus HB User
Talking What is the ideal weight?

Hi crowd!

I'm a newbie, but happy to report that I've lost 38 pounds in the last 6 months by watching what I eat and working out like a sled dog. There's many a mile of tundra behind me now ...

I have been keeping track of my weight on a daily basis for the last three months. I can fit a straight line through the data points. On the average, I have been losing one pound every 4.5 days. I feel fit, confident, and in control of the process.

Which leads to the following question -- what should my goal be? I feel like I could pick any weight loss target I like and hit it smack on. If I focus only on BMI, I would reason as follows: I am 5' 9 3/8" tall, so to have a BMI of 25 I would need to be 170 pounds. If I pick BMI = 23, I could justify having a goal all the way down to 155.

Is there any other way to think about it? BMI is the only trick I know. If anyone has any sensible suggestions on how to choose a weight loss goal, I'm all ears!

If anyone's interested I can also offer more details on how I lost 38 pounds ...

Old 05-10-2009, 05:45 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

tjlhb HB Usertjlhb HB Usertjlhb HB Usertjlhb HB Usertjlhb HB User
Re: What is the ideal weight?

Try not to think only in terms of weight.

Your weight includes both body fat and lean tissue. The unhealthy effects of being "overweight" are really due to being overfat. When most people think of "weight loss", they really should be thinking of fat loss.