It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Weight Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2010, 11:27 AM   #1
(female)

Upagainstawall HB User
Oatmeal and Weight gain?

I'm new to any sort of forum, so pardon if I make some horrendous mistake. Hahaha! I was wondering about eating a lot of oats and what it would do as far as weight gain is concerned. I live in a household where there's a lot of junk and very little protein available sometimes so I automatically reach for oats when I'm hungry. Is this the wrong thing to do? Will I eventually end up gaining muscle mass that I don't want? I run every day and workout on an elliptical for thirty minutes seven days a week but I'm worried that the constant consumption of oatmeal is going to cause me to have a lot of muscle mass in my legs. I don't want that. I eat oatmeal once or twice a day sometimes and sometimes it's right before bed when I'm craving sweets. What will this end up doing in the long run?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-10-2010, 01:12 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

tjlhb HB Usertjlhb HB Usertjlhb HB Usertjlhb HB Usertjlhb HB User
Re: Oatmeal and Weight gain?

Plain oatmeal is fine (preflavored kinds with lots of sugar are not so good).

Why would you not want to gain muscle?

Most people do not gain muscle size that much, compared to muscle strength if they do strength / resistance exercises (cardio or endurance exercises do build some muscle strength compared to nothing, but not as much as strength / resistance exercises). What causes people who exercise to "look more muscular" is often the loss of body fat, so that their muscles become more visible.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-10-2010, 02:42 AM   #3
(female)

Upagainstawall HB User