It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Weight Loss Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2011, 06:59 PM   #1
(female)

blondielou HB User
Trying to get life on track: Suggestions for Diet & Exercise

I also posted on the nutrition board, but posting here because I'm wanting suggestions on exercise & nutrition based on what all I'm going through.

Hello, I'm a newbie looking for advice.

I've had an ankle injury since April of 2010 and haven't been able to fully walk (had to walk with a leg brace) and very, very limited walking distance. I had a very rare injury and long story short I basically had a hole inside my bone in my ankle. I just had ankle surgery last month which involved using a cadaver bone, cartilage and pieces to do a bone transplant. They cut out the bad section of bone and implanted the new bone & screwed it all together. I haven't been able to walk for six weeks.

So, about 4 months ago I got tired of being a guinea pig and on a bunch of pills (my 1st Dr.'s team couldn't fix it so they had me on all kinds of pills to make my brain think I wasn't in pain) so I got off all my medications and decided that if I was going to be in pain for simply barely walking I was going to try and do something. I'm overweight & it didn't help that I was very limited on any kind of movement for a year so I went back to the gym. I lifted weights, did a lot on they cycles (around 10 miles per day) and then did a mile or so at a pretty brisk pace on the treadmill (this was the hardest for me to do because it was painful).

But my problem is my nutrition. I HATE VEGETABLES. It's not really a matter of personal choice, when I eat most of them, they make me gag. I can't stomach them because they taste so bad they make me vomit. I can't eat any salad stuff without throwing up, and I've tried all I can to eat it. It's easier to list what I can stomach than can't: