It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Women's Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2002, 10:50 AM   #1

Darlray HB User
Post Spotting between periods and heavy discharge

Well, I think I must be falling apart. I have been posting on the spinal cord disorder board for a herniated disc and am having surgery. In the meantime, I have started spotting between periods. It started in September. It has increased in amount and frequency. I have NEVER done this before. I have also developed(within the last year) a heavy, heavy discharge. It is white. I have had pain in the pelvic area and low back. I just figured these were part of getting older and have ignored it until I started reading about symptoms of cancer.

I have an appointment with the gynecologist on January 9. I haven't had a pap for 6 years, unfortunately. My last one was abnormal but I didn't take the time for a follow up. I felt fine. That doesn't matter though, I guess. I also did not educate myself very well as to cancers that could come about with NO symptoms.

Has anyone had a diagnosis with similar symptoms? I am afraid of having cancer. I regret not taking care and having pap smears done and what not. I hope it is not too late. What exactly can spotting between periods mean???? Is that common for cancer??

Scared to death
Darla

Old 12-11-2002, 01:10 PM   #2

kitty77 HB User
first of all don't stress your self with the idea about having cancer. yes spotting in between period and heavy discharge (smelly, change in color) are some of the symptoms of cancer but it can also be due to other condition. it's quit normal for some women to have spotting specially when they are ovulating. since you haven't had any pap test for 6 years then probably this is the time to visit you gyne and tell her the changes your experiencing. it's very much worth the time for a peace of mind

Sponsors Lightbulb