It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Women's Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2005, 06:49 PM   #1
(female)

timexgirl HB User
thermal balloon ablation

Hello. I was wondering if anyone has ever had a thermal balloon ablation. I am 47 and have been having really heavy periods and long periods. I had a uterine biopsy a few days ago to eliminate the possibility of cancer. I'm not a doctor, but I do not believe it is cancer.

Anyway, my doctor has suggested possible treatments, and wants me to think about it in the next couple of weeks. He suggested 1) horome therapy treatment, 2) a D & C, 3) a D & C with the thermal balloon ablation, d) and removal of my uterus.

I am considering the ablation because it doesn't seem as drastic a surgery, and in all probability, it will stop my periods. I was just wondering if anyone has experience with it.

Thanks.

Old 08-09-2005, 10:49 PM   #2
(female)

dorothys HB User
Re: thermal balloon ablation

My doctor pretty much went over the same options with me. I couldn't do the pill because I get migraines occasionally and I guess that increases the risk of a stroke as a side effect (not something I want to even mess with). So I decided to have the ablation. I had it done on May 25th. My first period after the surgery was just as bad if not worse than before, but I guess that's normal for some people. My second period was much lighter, but still what most people would consider to be a "normal" period. My doctor says that it could still get lighter as my uterus scars over with time. I would definitely recommend it as something to try before going to the extreme of having a hysterectomy, especially if you don't have cancer or anything like that. The recovery was very easy since there is no incision to heal.

Good luck!

Last edited by dorothys; 08-09-2005 at 10:50 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-12-2005, 07:36 PM   #3