It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Women's Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2007, 05:13 PM   #1
(female)

VinceraVivere HB User
A Semi-urgent problem

Hey there, this is my first time posting here, I'm Sarah. I've been having some issues and need advice.

I had my period and unwittingly used scented tampons, not realising what they were.

A few days ago, I thought I'd stopped my period. However, I think I had an allergic reaction to the tampons - I'm swollen, itchy, and SORE down there. It's mostly superficial but it feels sore and itchy up to maybe 2 inches in or so?

I would think it's a yeast infection or something, but the only problem is I have no whitish discharge or anything - I'm actually still bleeding, albeit irregularly. The itching has gone on for almost two days now, and the irregular not-my-period bleeding for that long as well.

The bleeding has been worrying me, because I'd been doing it for about a week and a half or two weeks before my period as well. But it's not normal blood - it's almost black in colour, and more clottish than my normal period, which is bright red. And it's continued for a while now.

MY mother bought me some Monistat, but I'm hesitant to use anything besides the external creams and wipes, because they said not to use it if you've never been diagnosed with a yeast infection before, and I don't even know if that's what this is. So would it hurt to go ahead and use the inserts anyways, or should I call my doctor?

Also, I've been off my birth control for about two months; this was my second period without it. Would that affect the bleeding maybe?

Thanks in advance for any replies...and sorry for the long post! I'm just kinda freaked out and VERY uncomfortable.

Last edited by VinceraVivere; 04-21-2007 at 05:18 PM. Reason: Clarification

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-21-2007, 05:53 PM   #2
Veteran
(female)