It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Women's Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2008, 11:38 AM   #1
(female)

sophie86 HB User
Exclamation Getting a Pap while still a virgin(HELP!)

HI everybody im new to thits forum, but i need advice from anybody who can possibly help me, im 21 yrs old and ive never been sexually active, last week i went in for a physical and my doctor told me that i needed to get a pap, but i asked him that if i still needed to get one eventhough ive never been sexually active and he said yes, I told him i would make an appointment for another day cause i was in a hurry. Ive heard from most of my friends though that i dont need a pap since there no need for one. Im just scared that getting a pap right now will really hurt. I just want to know if its normal for a doctor to do a pap on a women if shes never been sexually active. Can anyone PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! help, it would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-30-2008, 12:34 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Mom22greatkids HB User
Re: Getting a Pap while still a virgin(HELP!)

Yes, I think that if you are over 18 you are supposed to get one even if you are a virgin.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-30-2008, 02:38 PM   #3
Facilitator
(female)

Titchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB User

Pap is not for sex related issues - other than maybe HPV. It is to detect cancer which anyone at any age can contract. So, yes, 18 -21 is a good age to start with regular gyno exams including a Pap.

Old 04-30-2008, 04:27 PM   #4
(female)

Cakies HB User