It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Women's Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2009, 09:12 AM   #1
(female)

shejac08 HB User
TVH with cystocele and rectocele repair

Hello, this is my first time posting on this site. I have however been reading a lot of similar posts and I am scared!! I am having surgery of August 26. Vaginal hysterectomy with cystocele and rectocele repair. I am keeping my one healthy ovary. I just want to know if there is any positive outcome in having this surgery? My husband and I have been married for less than a year and sex is an important part of our life. Also we are very active people ( exercise, bike riding). I feel like I'm not getting a straight answer when I question my doctors, except to say it might be different. Also what is the average time out of work? I do most of my work at a desk but do have to carry heavy file and walk a lot during the day also. My cystocele is worst than my rectocele. My uterus is prolapse about half way down my vagina. My life is not unbearable now. I feel like I will make my quality of life worse having this procedure. But on the other hand, not having it could only result in a worsening problem. Anything positive out there?? Only hearing negative!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-21-2009, 11:50 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Martha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB User
Re: TVH with cystocele and rectocele repair

I had rectocele surgery less than a week ago. I also have a small cystocele but this was not, in the doctor's opinion, bad enough to need surgery.

The operation was not bad at all; I was surprised how little pain I had. I did not have my uterus removed, however.