It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Women's Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2009, 04:04 PM   #1
(female)

Rachael2102 HB User
Beta-mannan for cervical dysplasia

Hi all! This is my first time here, but want to share my story as I'm finding out so many other women are also affected by HPV and cervical dysplasia. I'm a 27 year old, non-smoking, relatively healthy person. I was diagnosed with HPV in September of 2008. I was kind of in denial about the whole thing, and didn't follow up with the recommended colposcopy because frankly I was too scared to go through with it!!

A year later, I went in again for my pap, and prayed it would come back normal and HPV-free. I did not end up so lucky. The HPV was still there and my doctor again recommended I come back in for a colposcopy, which I did. I was SO nervous, but it wasn't bad at all!! The doctor took out 2 small biopsies which I literally could not feel at all. I know this feels different for everyone, but I honestly didn't feel a thing. The worse part was afterwards when the doctor was holding a swab with medicine on my cervix, and I felt a cramping sensation.

A week later I got the results - mild to moderate dysplasia. My heart sank! My doctor felt this was something that would most likely not go away on its own. I was so disappointed!! She said I should come in for a LEEP procedure sometime in the next few months. I made the appointment for the following month.

But, after doing some research online and reading forums just like this one, I decided to give the supplement Beta Mannan a try.