It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Women's Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2010, 11:25 PM   #1
(female)

jem2011 HB User
Ladies... I need some reassurance! :(

Here's my deal; I am 22 years old, and I have never, ever, been to the gyno for a pap or pelvic. I have been absolutely DREADING a gyno visit since I was 11 or 12... to the point of crying at the mere thought of it. I am terrified, embarrassed, horrified, and violated at the slightest thought of being in the middle of the exam. I feel like this kind of exam is similar to rape- being "invaded" by a stranger.

I've searched all over the internet for ways to reduce anxiety, and almost everything online mentions "knowing what is going to happen" during the exam. I am a senior nursing student- I know all of the steps that go into the exam, all of the instruments, everything to expect. I know that it's
uncomfortable, but not painful (for most women). I understand how important it is to get checked out - but it's like a smoker, they know it's bad for them but don't change!

My main concern is the awkward factor. The embarrassment, the violation, the "what the heck kind of conversation goes on while someone is looking into my vagina?" I can't put myself in the professionals shoes and convince myself that it's "purely professional" to them.

I would love to hear some reassurances, and what happens during that part of the visit, especially the time spent during each step of the exam - all of this would help me out so much. ahhh! I feel very childish making a big deal about this (especially as a future health care provider), but after 10 years of getting myself worked up over this, I honestly don't know if I can do this...

Last edited by Mod-S4; 11-13-2010 at 04:33 PM. Reason: Please don't survey members. Thanks.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-12-2010, 05:22 AM   #2
Facilitator
(female)