View Single Post
Old 05-15-2015, 03:56 AM   #1
anjula
(female)

anjula HB User
Myelopathy for 10 years and syptoms getting worse

Hello everyone, I am new to health boards and this is my first post after being a reader for some time so finally taking the plunge to ask something! Historically I had an RTA on a motorbike in 2005 which broke my pelvis and made a protruding disc worsen. In 2007 MRI's showed large disc protrusion at c5/c6 which impinged on the left paracentral region of the cord with significant foraminal narrowing on both root nerves. I also had disc displaced above and below but no significant damage enough to cause nerve symptoms at that time and they have since settled. The large disc protrusion is intact and just huge! and over the last 10 years I have been through tests tests tests!

I have had radiculopathy for most of that time with some progressive weakness in both hands and sensory symptoms. That is until last year when I developed a resting tremor then more recently spasticity, spasms in my left leg and arm which are severe and protracted and go on for days and contractions which last about 20 to 30 minutes on average. I am now on an increasing regime of Baclofen which helps a bit. I also have facial spasms and I can no longer use my left hand due to weakness and I have fallen a couple of time due to left leg weakness and I have an ataxic gait. Unfortunately resulting in a few broken teeth one time!

2 years ago I had a neuro surgeon review and I was not bad enough to warrant surgery. In the UK we seem to operate late and I mean late, I was told recently that complete paralysis only is a medical emergency! My surgeon is saying that due to the length of time I have had the damage that the surgery may not be successful in terms of reducing my current symptoms and may only stop the progression of further worsening?