It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Abuse Support Message Board

• Munchausen Syndrome by Proxy survivor?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 10-28-2013, 11:02 AM   #1
    LittleCarol
    (female)

LittleCarol HB User
    Question Munchausen Syndrome by Proxy survivor?

Hello everyone,

I am new to HealthBoards, but I thought I'd try here because I am 42, and I am just having some disturbing memories surface about my childhood. I always knew my mom was "weird", but now I'm remembering some details that make me think I might be a survivor of Munchausen Syndrome by Proxy.

In my case, I have a brother who is 5 years younger, and he has never led a normal life. He can work now, but is emotionally dependent on my parents, who divorced when I was 8 because my mom mysteriously decided that was necessary after 10 years of marriage to my dad. However, dad moved nearby, and continued to be pulled along with her abuse. She tried to get me diagnosed with bipolar disorder from the time I was 4 (in the 1970s), and I ended up even getting hospitalized as a teenager. I finally escaped to my dad's when I was 14, but I have not remembered much since then.

I had major depression until about age 30, and now, I'm getting a better idea as to why as these memories are coming back. I have vaginismus (sexual disorder), and now I have read some research that says Munchausen moms often sexually abuse their babies. I was hospitalized for severe bladder infections when a baby, so this makes sense. My brother is also sexually screwed up, and now I think I know why. I have a dissociative disorder called fugue and have a lot of other health problems from this. My dad and brother are still brainwashed. My mom caused these kidney/bladder infections, pretended/fabricated I had allergies, and also fabricated/induced bizarre behavior from me so I looked like a mental case (which I am now).