It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board

• GERD/LPR and Fundoplication Story

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 06-28-2005, 07:33 PM   #1
    scooteratw
    (male)

scooteratw HB User
    GERD/LPR and Fundoplication Story

I just wanted to throw my own story on here for everyone's perusal. I am a 28-year-old male, dealing with reflux.

I'm a singer by profession and for the last three years I had been having unexplained phlegm in my voice that was extremely persistent and very difficult to clear. I had no idea where it was coming from. I tried diet modifications (like no dairy/no caffeine, etc.) to no avail. Finally went to see ENT and he was suspicious of reflux of the LPR sort, but wanted to narrow it down. My symptoms were--onset of phlegm right after eating, thick and difficult-to-clear on the vocal cords, post-nasal drip and the general feeling that there was a lump in my throat or that some small amount of food or phlegm was sticking somewhere in my throat. A look into my throat showed no damage to the cords.

We did a sinus CT scan to rule out a sinus infection, tried nasal sprays to see if they might decrease the drip, had allergy tests done to see if I was reacting to something. No incriminating results there...so he was fairly sure it was some form of reflux.

I remained skeptical because I felt I didn't have all the typical symptoms that you read and hear about. No heartburn of any kind, no gagging, no regurgitation of food, no waking up in the middle of the night coughing, no pain. Just awful phlegm. I also experienced no change in symptoms after taking Prilosec and Nexium for prolonged periods. I thought maybe I was just having a swallowing disorder.