It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board

• Anyone experience Contact Dermatitis on PPIs?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 07-29-2006, 06:19 AM   #1
    aswaer
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

aswaer HB Useraswaer HB User
    Anyone experience Contact Dermatitis on PPIs?

Nexium 2x per day has been a miracle for me for 4 years, but I'm getting a little bit worried. I've been itching for 2 months, not unbearably, but noticeably. The itching is everywhere, and in places that noone else seems to scratch - like the scalp.

6 days ago, I developed 3 patches of contact dermatitis. It looks exactly like Poison Ivy contact dermatitis, except that I've had no exposure to any plant life in over 2 weeks. Then I broke out in about 6 more patches, and they are distributed everywhere - torso, legs, and arms. Not the feed or hands though. And if my dog exposed me to poison ivy, since I pet the dog all the time, wouldn't I get the dermatitis on my hands?

The patches of dermatits are hard, raised, red bumps and each one has one or more little pustules in the center, which easily break open. When scratched, the patches get worse.

I don't have any patches on face (yet, thankfully).

I'd like to know if anyone else has had any unexplained contact dermatitis in conjunction with a PPI. I've seen my doctor, who immediately thought it was poison ivy. Since she is a PCP she's never had anyone on Nexium 2x per day, and has no familiarity with PPIs and itching. The complicating factor is that I switched to a different detergent and fabric softener 2 weeks ago, and I'm wondering if that's a factor. I've switched back to my old brands, but it's going to be a while before I can see if there is a difference. The weird thing is that I have never in my life had any kind of rash or dermatitis. I am 32 and have never even had poison ivy.