It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board

• Prilosec and Doxycycline

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 03-04-2008, 02:38 PM   #1
    ChampRJ
    (male)

ChampRJ HB User
    Prilosec and Doxycycline

My dentist gave me a 2 week prescription for Doxycycline for a minor gum infection. He told me I could not eat dairy products for 1 hour prior to or 1 hour after taking this drug and the possible diarrhea issues.

However, I did not tell him I take Prilosec on a daily basis. I read online that you should not take this drug with Tums or Rolaids but does that also extend to Prilosec? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by ChampRJ; 03-04-2008 at 02:39 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-04-2008, 02:58 PM   #2
    greg1x
    (male)

greg1x HB User
    Smile Re: Prilosec and Doxycycline

Greetings. I am a dentist. Prilosec is not an issue. It is not the acid suppression that is the issue with the tums , rolaids, and dairy products. The issue with all teracyclines (not just doxy) is the the calcium in these products, The tetracyclines tend to bond with calcium thus lessening the effectiveness. Greg

However, I did not tell him I take Prilosec on a daily basis. I read online that you should not take this drug with Tums or Rolaids but does that also extend to Prilosec? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The Following User Says Thank You to greg1x For This Useful Post:
    makeworldgoaway (10-14-2012)
    Old 03-05-2008, 08:29 AM   #3
    ChampRJ
    (male)

ChampRJ HB User
    Re: Prilosec and Doxycycline

Thank you very much!

Quote:
    Originally Posted by gaugreg1x View Post