It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acid Reflux / GERD Message Board

• Newbie - LPR or GERD - what to do?

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 04-23-2014, 11:39 AM   #1
    Grace63
    (female)

Grace63 HB User
    Newbie - LPR or GERD - what to do?

Hello, all. I am a newbie here, though I have been reading some posts for a couple of days now. Let me give a brief rundown of my story.

Two years ago, amidst much chronic stress in my life (house flooding, interstate move, etc.), I started having stomach pain in the upper center part of stomach. Ended up on Nexium off and on for several months, even a bit while pregnant with my third child. By the time I had her a year ago and even through last summer, I thought I was fine.

This past fall I started having a chronic cough - not terrible, and I basically ignored it thinking it was allergies. By the end of March, I had a sore throat, starting to crackle and I started to notice an acid-like taste down in my throat every once in awhile. This was a burning kind of feeling. Having a glass of wine killed my throat. At this point, I figured it was my stomach, and I started an OTC Prilosec pack. Things started to improve, but I was already scheduled to see my doctor.

He sent me for Upper GI/Barium swallow xrays and sinus xrays (had some sinus issues, too). Turns out I had "significant "reflux, but the doctor did not see any lesions or change in throat structure. I also had a chronic sinus infection.

Doctor put me on 40mg of Protonix and antibiotics for three weeks (I know, I know...) My symptoms got worse for a few days, so he switched me to Prilosec prescription. I have now been on that for just over a week. I thought my symptoms were improving, but the past two days I seem to be having a bit of a regression (waking up with acid taste in mouth even though I'm on an incline, etc.)