HealthBoards

HealthBoards (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/)
-   Acne (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/acne/)
-   -   spironolactone (https://www.healthboards.com/boards/acne/170670-spironolactone.html)

seacoral 05-01-2004 10:04 PM

spironolactone

i have tried many products for my acne. Recently I tried differin and I had a very bad reaction to it – rashes, itching, swelling in face, worse breakouts than before, pain.
I have a prescription for spironolactone which I haven’t filled because I am afraid if I take it, something awful will happen to my body or face like with differin. I got a blood test done – estrogen, testosterone, electrolyte and other levels are all fine. My doctor said that if I take spironolactone it shouldn’t do anything to my potassium levels. Not sure what to do, should I try the spironolactone. I am a student and I only have medical insurance for the next 2 weeks. I have some questions regarding spiro:
1. do you pee a lot all the time or only initially
2. will it increase my potassium levels?
3. anyone experience any side effects?
4. can I still use it even if my blood test results are fine or will it do something to my levels?
5. its supposed to decrease hair does this also include hair on the head?
6. I’m a female; does it make females lose, decrease their sex drive and does it cause sterility?

cln5462 05-02-2004 09:11 AM

Re: spironolactone

take it....it's awesome. I'm on 100mg/day and I've had no side affects. Just make sure you take it with food. And it's cheap @ $10/prescription. I use to spend way more on supplements.

joeh 05-02-2004 12:47 PM