It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board

• Generic Ortho Tricyclen (Trinessa)

• Post New Thread   Closed Thread
    Old 05-31-2004, 05:04 PM   #1
    cheesewagon

cheesewagon HB User
    Thumbs down Generic Ortho Tricyclen (Trinessa)

I have seen other people post about this so I wanted to share my experience. I was on the regular ortho tricyclen with no acne problems. The pharmacy gave me the generic (trinessa) and since my insurance doesn't cover BC I decided to try it. I have been breaking out for the past 5 months that I have been on it. I never had a problem with acne before but its gotten so bad that I've been to the derm and since been on benzaclin, retin-a micro, tetracyclin, vitamins, drinking lots of water, proactiv cleanser, eating an organic diet to avoid excess hormones.... Basically nothing has worked. I never even thought about the fact that I changed to the generic pill and this could be the reason (I am 24 and never had an acne problem.) Since I made the connection, I have searched the internet and found other people with the same problem. Has anybody else experienced this? I am going back to the regular ortho tricyclen to see if my skin will go back to normal. I will post in the future to let you know what happens. Please let me know if this has happened to anyone else!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-31-2004, 08:12 PM   #2
    skimom
    Senior Veteran
    (female)

skimom HB User
    Re: Generic Ortho Tricyclen (Trinessa)

I can't really answer your question but I have the same concerns about Trinessa. My daughter got this because our policy wouldn't cover Orthotricyclen which was prescribed for her acne. She's on her 3rd pack and not gotten the clearing that I hoped she'd get. We have a derm appointment tomorrow and I'll ask him about the generic vs regular. Hopefully, he'll have an opinion.

Old 06-04-2004, 03:20 PM   #3
    skimom
    Senior Veteran
    (female)