It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Acne Message Board

What's the best way to treat my type of Acne?

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-01-2010, 04:00 PM   #1
BHERM88
(female)

BHERM88 HB User
What's the best way to treat my type of Acne?

I suffer from a very severe, chronic case of WHITEHEADS! I had them for years now. They have taken over my forehead, cheeks, chin, mouth, and lower jaw area. I used all but every BP and SA product out there, I've gone to a dermatologist who put me on Retin-A (dosage was increased 3x) and that did nothing but make my skin 100x worse! I'm now using a Glycolic Acid cleanser with a 12% Glycolic Acid cream and an oil-free moisturizer all from the Alpha Hydrox line. I steam my face 2x a week, 15 minutes each and I use the Aspirin Mask remedy with a little honey as an exfoliator 2x a week. I've been doing this regimen for 5 months now with not one sign of improvment. My face becomes immune to all but everything I use. I just don't know what to do anymore. I have zero self confindence because of this acne. It's the only thing people can see when they look at me! I was getting facials/extractions once a month to help get rid of some of the whiteheads but literally 1-2 weeks after I'd get the whiteheads removed, they'd come right back, so it was just a big waste of money. I also suffer from Milia which are the hard, small but very white bumps around my eyes. And they have been impossible to remove. I'm now considering a chemical peel or microdermabrassion but before I waste that money, I need to know if there is something else out there that will help get rid of this type of acne??? Or I am doing something wrong?? I drink nothing but water all day long and I eat a healthy, well balanced diet. Please someone help me!